Message Boards

Ideas for interesting Guest Speakers?

17 years 3 months ago #107097 by nicanna
Ideas for interesting Guest Speakers? was created by nicanna
We are a PTO, and I am looking for some interesting guest speakers or ideas like this to attract more membership. Has anyone had experiences with this or have any good ideas?
17 years 3 months ago #107098 by Lisa@Tx
Replied by Lisa@Tx on topic Ideas for interesting Guest Speakers?
Yes, I am in charge of Parent Ed. next year.
I will be having speakers talk about Discipline, Crisis support (anniversary of 9/11; divorce, etc), Bullying (resolving conflicts), Motivation, self-esteem, etc. I am really excited and have gotten many speakers to come for FREE! PTA sends speakers for free (if you're PTA). I have also contacted my local extension service, thru our university and some other organizations. You can do a search on the web for "Outreach -city-" This is my first time doing this, so I am hoping for a good turnout. But I know free food and door prizes usually bring people!

You can also contact your local zoo, museums, library for speakers. Our Art museum has an outreach program where they come to our school for free and spend about an hour in each classroom. Try Familyforward.org and peerabuse.net on the web, too.

Hope this helps,
Lisa @ Tx
17 years 3 months ago #107099 by lacrosse mom
Replied by lacrosse mom on topic Ideas for interesting Guest Speakers?